University Student Union, Inc.

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

 

Apply

 

To apply, please download and fill out application and drop it off at the Information Counter on the first floor of the Sol Center in the USU or email a scanned copy to Graduate Assistant, BOD.

 

Apply for a Seat on the Board of Directors Today

Start Living the Matador Life by making decisions to benefit the entire student body, building a network of professionals and promising students, enhancing your leadership skills, and learning how a multi-million dollar organization operates. You could be the one who brings new services to the USU and the change students want to see. An open seat is waiting for you.

USU Board of Directors

In the last few years, the USU Board of Directors (BOD) and its committees have renovated the USU, voted to increase funding for large-scale events such as Matador Nights, and launched the referendum to build the Student Recreation Center. Start doing more now, on your campus, with the BOD.

Are you interested in joining the USU BOD? There are three ways to get involved:

  1. Run for a seat on the BOD in the Spring Elections. Each spring, students run in the AS/USU elections for five of the ten student seats. Learn more about elections.
  2. Apply for an open seat on the BOD if there are any vacancies. Contact the BOD Graduate Assistant to find out about any current vacancies.
  3. Join a BOD Committee. Join one of the standing committees to learn about the BOD and the USU and develop skills for your future. The standing committees include: the audit committee, the facilities and commercial services committee, the finance committee, and the personnel committee. Students who serve on committees and demonstrate leadership potential are always encouraged to run for a seat on the BOD.

Eligibility:
Students who serve on the BOD or a committee must have a minimum cumulative and semester 2.0 GPA, and must have completed at least one semester at California State University, Northridge.


More Information

If you would like more information about the BOD or are interested in applying for an open position, please provide your information below and we’ll be in touch soon.










Contact Information
Name Position Contact
Joseline Cubas Graduate Assistant, Board of Directors (818) 677-6578
Shannon Krajewski Associate Director, Marketing and Programs (818) 677-6494


Meeting dates, times, and locations

  • July 22, 2013*
  • August 26, 2013
  • September 16, 2013
  • October 21, 2013
  • November 18, 2013
  • December 2, 2013
  • January 27, 2014
  • February 17, 2014
  • March 17, 2014
  • April 14, 2014
  • May 5, 2014
  • June 9, 2014

Meetings are held on Mondays in the Grand Salon, USU at 12:30 p.m.
*
July 22, 2013 meeting is held the Sala de la Osa, SSU
Other Important USU BOD Dates
BOD Summer Retreat June 27–28, 2013
Summer Student Summit August 21
Matafest August 28
Holiday — Labor Day September 2
Matador Nights September 6
NIRSA Region VI — Conference — UCLA November 6–7
NIRSA Region VI — Lead On — UCLA November 8–9
Holiday — Veteran’s Day November 11
ACUI Region 15 Conference —
University of Hawaii at Manoa
November 11–14
Holiday — Thanksgiving November 28–29
U-Day December 6
Fall Final Exams December 9–13
Winter Break December 24–January 1, 2014
AOA Conference — Sacramento January 12–15, 2014
Holiday — Martin Luther King, Jr. January 20, 2014
Winter Student Summit January 22
Holiday — Cesar Chavez Day March 31
ACUI Annual Conference — Orlando, FL April 5–10
Spring Recess April 7–11
Carnaval April 17
NIRSA — Annual Conference — Nashville, TN April 23–26
Matador Nights April 25
BOD Year-End Celebration May 2
Spring Final Exams May 12–16
Holiday — Memorial Day May 26
BOD Orientation June 2

Agendas and Minutes


Goals/Accomplishments

  1. The USU Board members will assist in promoting and supporting the successful opening of the Student Recreation Center.
  2. The USU Board will examine the feasibility of developing/funding resource centers (i.e., LGBTQ, Veterans) within the USU.
  3. The USU Board will assist in creating concepts and plans related to the development of a "Wellness Center" within the USU.
  4. The USU Board will develop an ad-hoc strategic planning committee that will examine current relevant assessments, data, surveys and information and make recommendations for future plans.


Board Members
Name Position Contact
Collin Johnson Chair usuboardchair@csun.edu
Perlita Varela Vice-Chair usuboardvicechair@csun.edu
Debra L. Hammond Executive Secretary debra.hammond@csun.edu
Shelley Ruelas University Representative shelley.ruelas@csun.edu
Sharon Eichten University Representative sharon.eichten@csun.edu
Jaclyn Kietzman Staff Representative jaclyn.kietzman@csun.edu
Ivor Weiner Faculty Representative ivor.weiner@csun.edu
Tonee Sherrill Alumni Representative tonee.sherrill@gmail.com
Kandee Bracero Student Representative kandee.bracero.483@my.csun.edu
Tiffany Castellanos Student Representative tiffany.castellanos.184@my.csun.edu
Jorge Guzman Student Representative jorge.guzman.494@my.csun.edu
Diana Madueno Student Representative diana.madueno.323@my.csun.edu
David O’Neill Student Representative david.oneill.709@my.csun.edu
Gavan Rathje Student Representative gavan.rathje.23@my.csun.edu
Nicole Riley Student Representative nicole.riley.520@my.csun.edu
Demontae Thompson Student Representative demontea.thompson.87@my.csun.edu


Associated Students Liaison
Name Position Contact
Christopher Woolett Associated Students
President
president@csunas.org
* This position serves as a liasion to the Board of Directors and is not eligible to vote.


Standing Committees
Committee Name Contact
Finance Commitee Chair Demontae Thompson demontea.thompson.87@my.csun.edu
Personnel Committee Chair    
Facilities and Commercial Services Chair  

 

Other Committees
Committee Name Contact
Food Service Advisory Committee Vacant
Student Fee Advisory Board Vacant

back to top